One of the many events that Speedway Childrens Charities - Texas Chapter hosts during race weekend is the Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame® Dinner and Induction Ceremony.

The event will recognize those who have played a big part in putting Texas on the proverbial Motorsports map. Not only will we induct a new member into the Hall, we will also recognize the incredible racing that happened at The Great American Speedway ® throughout 2009.

Awards that will be presented the evening of the 16th include:

  • Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame Inductee: Joe Gibbs
  • Bruton Smith Legend Award: Robert Yates
  • Texas Motor Speedway Racer of the Year: Kyle Busch
  • Texas Motor Speedway Sportsmanship Award: Jeff Gordon and Marcos Ambrose
  • Excellence in Motorsports Journalism Award: John Sturbin

For the first time this year, fans will be invited to vote for their favorite moment in the 2009 racing season. The three candidates for this award will be revealed at Media Day on March 1st, at Texas Motor Speedway. You can watch Media Day live via USTREAM. Go to to locate the link for the 60-minute show that will begin at approximately 11:30 a.m. CT on March 1st.

The Texas Motorsports Hall of Fame® Driver and Induction Ceremony will be held Friday, April 16th at The Grand Ballroom at Texas Motor Speedway, 7:00 p.m. Opportunities begin at $1,200 a table or $150 a person.

For more information, please contact Speedway Childrens Charities - Texas Chapter at (817) 215-8421.

Stacy Schiel
Intern, Texas Chapter
Speedway Childrens Charities